Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

Public or private? Dr Yan Choi Man?

Kartaly is offline Registered User

Public or private? Dr Yan Choi Man?

I'm fairly new to HK (moved here last August) - and certainly new to pregnancy. Thus, will really appreciate advice and tips from those here. I have a no of questions so please bear with me:
    1) For now, I'm planning to do the public-private hybrid route: give birth in QMH but supplement with private visits. I understand that I won't be able to choose the doc that delivers or a private ward (so my husband can stay over if need be) - is that correct?
    And to what extent does that matter? Do the cost savings (I have a HK ID card and so presumably will spend HK$1,000 or so versus HK$40,000 thereabouts from what I read; the former option will be an enormous help, finance-wise) make up for lack of relationship building with the doc, privacy and bonding time with the infant in the initial days etc? I am especially concerned if we are curtailed in the time we can have our baby in the ward with us...
    2) I have had a referral to Dr Yan Choi Man from Asia clinic in TST to help with supplementary visits. Was wondering if anyone had gone to him and has feedback either way?
    Thanks so much for helping!

Colzers is offline Registered User