Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Helper and Xmas

EYM
    EYM is offline Registered User

Helper and Xmas

Hi all,

I would be grateful to have some insights or experience sharing here: my helper started working for me a year ago, and now asked for 2 week off during Xmas and asked me to buy her flight tickets. This is my first time using a helper so I am trying to get some sense of the common practice, at the same time, I don't want her to take my niceness for granted and think I will give everything that she asks for.
    Am I right that she is only entitled to 7 days paid leave now that she has completed one year out of her two year contract? I don't mind paying for her tickets - I will tell her it is her year end bonus. Is this reasonable? Previously she asked for time off during Easter, but then when I said I won't pay for her flight back home, she said that she won't take holidays then. I thought that the when the helper takes their annual leave can be decided by the empolyer but not the helper, is this right?
    Obviously I know she really wants to go back for Xmas so plan to say ok. Would it be possible to find some part time helper during Xmas and New Year?
    Many thanks in advance.

alicialmy is offline Registered User
    i just got a helper about 2 months back, and still very new to the entire helper process.

My hk colleague gave me a very good brief on the do and donts. Very much depending on how you would want to make it work, but for me since she has not been with me for long, i will stick by the rules.

After working for a year, yes she is entitled to 7 days off without ticket back. only after 2 years will she be entitled to 14 days off and a return ticket. so it's very much how you want to grant her leaves. Yes you are right, it's just an employee employer scenario, if i ask my boss for leave, he disapproves it, then I will need to stay back.