Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

how much formula milk to give a newborn ?

Rosewood is offline Registered User

how much formula milk to give a newborn ?

How much formula milk did/do you give to your new born ? I have a 2 week old and giving both forumla and breast milk, and do around 6 sometimes 7 feeds every 24 hours. When giving formula, she has around 3oz. Does that seem exessive ? If I'm mixing both in one feed, then I give around 2oz formula and 2oz breast milk. I'm worried that I might be overfeeding.

strong is offline Registered User

I'm no expert, but my baby was formula feed from birth. At around 2 weeks old I was giving her 100-120mls per feed (6 feeds a day). I think they say you can't overfeed, so I wouldn't be too worried about that. Better to be giving more than not enough.

jdang is offline Registered User

Talking Rosewood

I used the following general guidelines:

Day 1 - 5 : 1-3 oz every 3-4 hrs
    Weeks 2-3: 3-4oz every 3-4 hrs
    1-3 months: 4-5oz every 4 hrs
    4-6 months: 4-6oz every 4 hrs
    7-9 months: 7-6oz 4 times a day wz other fluid/food
    12 months: 7-8oz 3 times a day

Obviously, not all babies will flw the above. As your new baby & you get to know each other better, you'll learn from her cues when she wants more or had enough. BTW, congratulations!

Rosewood is offline Registered User

thanks.. thats very helpful

Graham is offline Registered User

We're not giving our baby formula yet, he's getting expressed breast milk in a bottle while my wife is at work. We'll probably start supplementing with some formula in about a month or so if my wife is unable to keep up with expressing.