Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

New in HK - Need some advice!

Tulip is offline Registered User

New in HK - Need some advice!

Hi all,
    I'm new in HK and have 2 children - 6 yrs old son and 7 months old daughter. Could you please advise me on the following:
    - Do I need a medical insurance for the children and I? If so, what do you recommend?
    - My son speaks french only and needs english tuitions. Any french speaker teaching english?
    - How useful are playgroups for 7 months old babies? Can you recommend one around Pok Fu Lam or Aberdeen?
    Thanks a lot!

shalom is offline Registered User

dear tulip,
    i can only answer two of your q.

firstly, i think it is good to have insurance because medical fees in hong kong is very expensive, especially for non-local people. you or your child is bound to get sick and having an insurance at least helps with the hospital bills.
    i can't answer teh second q but third q, my son is 8 month old and he recently joined a playgroup and he loves it and i love it too. i get to meet other mothers and he gets to play with other babies. i believe gymboroo is around pok fu lam area if i am not mistaken. give them a call because they always have free trial class available for you to try out.

good luck

Tulip is offline Registered User

Thanks Shalom,

I'll check out for the playgroup. Any medical insurance plan that you would recommend?

JennyB is offline Registered User

Actually the public health is very good here, for most things, although you may have to spend more time waiting around in clinics than with private doctors, especially for non-urgent conditions. Urgent things like giving birth are fine and I paid only HK$250 for my delivery including 2 nights in hospital.