Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

refusing formula after 8 months

Arwen is offline Registered User

refusing formula after 8 months

My 8 month old girl is on Promil Gold (a step after S26).

She is now on solids but we will supplement her with a bottle of 210 ml before she sleeps, night feed of 180ml and a morning feed when she woke up of another 180ml.

However, recently she is rejecting the milk, drinking only a quarter of what is given or not drinking it at all.
    I read somewhere that milk at this stage is still very important to the healthy growth of babies.

She is still a smiley and happy baby but I am worried that if this continues, she may be reduced to just a pack of bones!

Anybody has similar encounters wtih remedies to offer?

Arwen

mulk is offline Registered User

That must be very frustrating for you. I have no experience with formula. However, I do remember at about 8 months that both of my children were very interested with what was going on around them (and not as interested in feeding). Try feeding your daughter in a quiet room (maybe dim the lights) and she might take more milk.

Good luck!

mambo is offline Registered User

My boy is 11 months now. In the past few days he too has started refusing his milk. At every feed he'll just push the bottle away. When he does drink it's only about 1/4- 1/2 a bottle. He also has NEVER taken to drinking water, juices...very frustrating!! Poor guy will get such constipation every now and then. What to do????
    Sorry Arwen, doesn't answer your question...I just know how you're feeling now.

odm_post is offline Registered User

My daughter also went through this same problem when she's about 8 mths old. I was so worried ('cause her sisters never had this problem before) that I took her to see the paedi.
    And we're explained that: