Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Moving to DB with Infant & Toddler

chubbysan is offline Registered User

Moving to DB with Infant & Toddler

hi all, I am new to tis forum and be moving to Hong Kong in Sept to join my hubby (who is currently working in central area) We have 2 girls, 2.5yr old & 2 mth old. I read abt DB being v children friendly with lots of activities for kids and transport is convenient as well.

I would like to seek yr advise on the nuseries & kindy in DB, any recommendation for my 2.5yr old girl. She is currently attending some playgroup in Singapore and I planning to put her in nusery when we in HK. Is there any good nusery in DB and any waiting list??

Wat shd i take note or bring along for the family & children when i move to DB?

I am still currently breastfeeding my 2mth old girl, and wondering how is the breastfeeding culture in HK. In Singapore, i could easily find nursing room in shopping mall and am wondering if HK has such facilities in shopping mall as well??

Looking forward to hearing & knowing everyone in DB!

cheers,

Felicia

Sara is offline Registered User

Hi Felicia,

We live in D.B. with a 3 1/3-year-old boy and are expecting a baby in late September.

We've lived here (in D.B.) for almost 10 years, and think it's great for families with children. There are loads of home-based structured playgroups run by qualified educators/teachers, so you need not to worry about that, but for real kindergartens and schools, the waiting lists are normally inconceivably long. I recommend that you register your 2-month-old as soon as you get here...

We've our local web site for second-hand stuff and such. You might browse through it to get some ideas on what you can easily find here. http://www.discoverybayforum.com

Good luck with your move.

Sara.

Hi Sara,

thanks for your msg. How can i register my 2.5yr old girl in any nusery or kindy when i reach DB, other than home-based playgroup?