Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Moving to Asia?

lseiter is offline Registered User

Moving to Asia?

Hello everyone--

I am new to GeoBaby...the mom of three little boys ages 3.5 and 15 mos. (twins). We currently live in Chicago but are considering a move to Asia. My husband has been asked to interview for a job with his current company which would allow him to live in either Hong Kong or Bangkok (or Delhi, but we have ruled that out). A great opportunity career-wise and appealing to us as we have always wanted to live internationally. However, we have never traveled to Asia and the decision to move forward, as well as to select a city to live in, seems quite overwhelming.

This board has been a great source of information so far. Any thoughts you have on what to consider when moving internationally? For those of you who have been to/lived in Bangkok vs. Hong Kong...any thoughts? On the surface, HK seems as though it would be an easier adjustment culturally, as well as potentially safer, etc. but we have heard Thailand is beautiful, friendly and cheap. I would love feedback if you would like to share!

Thanks, Libby

Sara is offline Registered User

Hi Libby,

Please check your private message.

Sara.

rani is offline Administrator

Libby,

Hong Kong and Bangkok are quite different. We love going to Thailand on holiday but I can't imagine living there.

1. The language: You have to learn Thai. In HK you can survive with English only. Mind you Thai is an easy language to learn. Family members who have moved there have picked it up in 4-5mths.

2. The heat. BKK heat can be unbearable. You'll probably drive/ or take a taxi. Btw, traffic does come to a standstill during rush hour.

3. Pollution in BKK is worse than here

4. The cost of living in BKK is far less than here. Food is cheap and accomodation is a lot more reasonable.

5. Education- Not sure about schools. I would think the Intl schools are just as expensive as HK.

Founded GeoBaby in 2002