Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Chinese tutors

creaturecomfort is offline Registered User

Chinese tutors

I have tried quite a few different Chinese tutors for my children - some qualified, some not.

None have been very impressive - just do a lecture style lesson, or read repeat, read repeat. My kids quickly switch off or start to play up.

The other problem is that it is hard to get the teacher to use Chinese. For example they will teach the word BOOK in Chinese then have a conversation in English on what books they like.

I am an English tutor and teach exclusively in English - even to children with zero English. It can be done. I have tried to share different teaching ideas with the Chinese tutors eg put objects in different corners of the room and the children have to run to what-ever word you say - but they do not get it - one even did the exercise in English!!

I am at a lose as to what to do next. I have tried sports classes but the teachers speak in English when my kids turn up. I have asked the sports teachers to speak in Chinese but they say that my kids don't understand if they do. Every child they start to play with in the park speaks to them in English too - part of being too white.

I am hoping someone can recommend a great interactive tutor who has experience teaching Chinese as a second language to foreign children or advice on other ideas. My other thought is to learn Chinese myself and teach them what I learn as I learn it.

Thanks for reading.

andymom is offline Registered User

Please read your pm, thanks.

andymom is offline Registered User
    Quote Originally Posted by andymom
    Please read your pm, thanks.
    My husband speaks Cantonese and Putong Hua and is good with children.
    He plays with our son, 3 yo, every morning for 1-2 hours, talking in Putong Hua all the time (while I speak English to him) and teaching him Chinese poems and songs. Now our son's very fluent in Chinese.