Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Private together with Public??

super is offline Registered User

Private together with Public??

This is my first time pregnancy. I have a private OB taking care of me and my baby. Recently, a lot of friends suggest me to make appointment with the public hosipitals as well. Is it common?? And should I do so as well??

Millerwhisk is offline Registered User

Congratulations!

It will probably depend on whether you plan on using the private system for the whole pregnancy and birth or not. If you are then there is no point registering with the public hospitals. Some people see a private ob for check ups but deliver at public hospital due to cost / other reasons. Even so you do not need to register until 32 weeks.

gigi is offline Registered User

I used private for my whole pregnancy, but at the same time, I also registered at the public hospital. I went to public for a few times and then stopped. I did so because it was recommended by a friend who had complication before, and at that time she only went to private and thus she had no record at the public. When she was brought to the operating theatre which was an emergency case, she was asked to provide all her perosnal data.....and it took ages for the staff to complete the registration form!!

Even though if you don't plan to use public, it is no harm to get registered with them because you'll never know what happens (touch wood!)! Anyway, congratulations and all the best to you and yor baby!

rani is offline Administrator

My first ObyGn suggested that I may not be able to carry my baby full term. The next week I registered at Tsan Yuk. I was around 22 weeks at the time. Like Gigi I did a combo of public/private tll about 33 weeks and then continued with my private Dr.

Founded GeoBaby in 2002

super is offline Registered User