Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Visitor Visa-Bringing Helper to Canada

EYE
    EYE is offline Registered User

Visitor Visa-Bringing Helper to Canada

I am planning to have a baby and would like to give birth in Canada. I would like to bring my helper to Canada. Now, her employer is my hubby's name who is a HK citizen and I am still a resident of Canada. In my case, am I against the regulation of pt 5 and cannot bring my maid to Canada with a visitor visa?

According to the information in the Canada Consulate website, it said:

Domestic helpers may apply for entry to Canada as a temporary resident for the purpose of accompanying their employers
    or joining their employers in Canada if the following criteria are met:
    1. the employer is visiting Canada (not residing in Canada) AND
    2. the domestic helper will only be performing his or her regular duties for the employer AND
    3. the total length of stay will not exceed 183 days AND
    4. the domestic helper satisfies normal temporary resident requirements.
    5. Employers who are permanent residents of Canada, who are emigrating to Canada or who are returning to Canada to
    resume permanent residence are not temporary resident and consequently their domestic helpers may not accompany
    them without first obtaining a work permit.

Thanks

EYE
    EYE is offline Registered User

Visitor Visa-Bringing helper to Canada

I missed one important question in my last message. If we bring our helper to Canada, my hubby will not back HK with the helper. The helper will back HK with me. Would the helper has to return HK with her contract employer?

carang is offline Registered User

why don't you call the canadian consulate and the hk immig and ask them? they will be able to provide you with 100% correct answers. here you will get people who are genuinely trying to help, but some of the answers may be incorrect.