Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Chinese Name

jaceesperanza is offline Registered User

Chinese Name

Hello! My son's due to be born on the 9th of April and I'm just wondering what will we fill in my son's chinese name. Our case is like this, I'm an HK resident obviously I have a chinese name and a surname. Whereas my husband is a Filipino citizen. His passort doesn't reflect any chinese name nor surname. But my mother in law is insisting that we use my husband's grandfather's chinese surname for our son. Is that possible? Even if without any document to support the use of that chinese surname? Any advice would be appreciated.

carang is offline Registered User

you can choose any name that you like for given names, however, most kid's have the surname of their father.

what you could do is this:

english/filipino given name- middle name-chinese name (could include grandfather's surname) -family name of father

Buckeroo is offline Registered User

My husband does not have a Chinese name on his HKID nor on his Canadian passport, but we were able to use his family's Chinese surname as the Chinese surname of our kids. We did not even have to provide any document to prove that the Chinese surname is really his. Note: Both of us went to the birth registry office and my husband was the one who signed on the application form. I don't know if it would have been as hassle-free if either of us had shown up alone to do the birth registration.

Good luck.

southside852 is offline Registered User

my understanding is that the father's side always choses the chinese name for the grandchild...is this not the case? Also if you have neices and nephews with chinese names, that must also be taken into consideration as our son's was a variation of theirs....

coastal is offline Registered User

Hi jaceesperanza.