Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Under ESF criteria, any child who can speak canto would automatically be downgrade...

Lily.hk is offline Registered User

Under ESF criteria, any child who can speak canto would automatically be downgrade...

Under ESF criteria, any child who can speak cantonese would automatically be downgraded to a Category Two priority.

I read it in this thread:

http://www.geobaby.com/forum/thread121414-2.html

Is it true?

I am new to HK but it will be permanent. I want my kids to speak and write chinese. Can they learn enough in international school or the best choice would be local school?

carang is offline Registered User

as stated in other of your threads, if you want your children to speak, read & write chinese, your ONLY option is a local school. chinese has thousands of characters that need to be learned and memorised. there is no way that an hour per day is going to cover it.

yes, it is true, if your child speaks cantonese, your priority for esf is downgraded. this is natural, esf is supposed to be there for childrent hat cannot speak chinese so that they still have an option for schoolling that is not outrageously expensive.

LLL_Sarah is offline Registered User

I don't think the criteria is about speaking Cantonese but rather being able to be educated in the local system. Two of my children are now studying in the ESF system and both can speak Cantonese but can't be educated in the local system because their written Chinese isn't good enough.

I also have a friend whose son studied in a local primary school until Year 7 and then was offered a place at an ESF school. She just told them that she couldn't manage to support him in the local system anymore because the Chinese was now beyond her.(This mother was English)

SARAH

HappyV is offline Registered User

* ESF children recieve less funding per student than 'local' students.