Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Weaning...

FutureHKmom is offline Registered User

Weaning...

I've decided to wean my little one after 10.5 months of breastfeeding...I now only BF him twice a day - once in the morning and once at night (he gets formula in the afternoon). I don't think he will (or at least I hope he won't) have too many problems with it because he gets a top up bottle of formula at night anyways and sometimes if I have early morning meetings, he gets a bottle of formula in the morning. What is the best way to get my supply to decrease? Since I've never done it before, wanted to get advice on it....thanks!

geomum is offline Registered User

In my opinion your supply might have decreased a lot already since you are feeding only twice a day. Start dropping the morning or evening feed whichever comfortable for you and your baby. If your breasts feel full just hand express little amount till you feel a bit lighter. Should take a week or two till the supply drops further.

LLL_Sarah is offline Registered User

Generally weaning as slowly as possible is recommended. The more slowly you wean the easier it is for your breasts to adjust.

But the principle of breastfeeding is the more milk you take out the more milk you make. So to reduce the amount you make out, reduce the amount you take out. Leaving your breasts full of milk is the quickest way to reduce your supply.

Unfortunately sometimes your breasts can't cope with this. If you become uncomfortable than take a small amount of milk out until you are comfortable again. Don't take a whole feed out or this will make your breasts produce more - just enough to be comfortable again.

I often suggest that you hand express to do this rather than using a pump. Sometimes with a pump you continue and take too much out but as hand expressing is a chore you are more likely to stop as soon as comfortable.