Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Maternity Leave Questions

geocup Guest

Maternity Leave Questions

Hi!

I have a few questions about maternity leave - if you could help that would be great...

1. - I am a teacher .... and I may be on school holidays during my "due date".... So, would I be entitled to the maternity leave pay on top of my school holiday pay?

2. Can I hand in my resignation whilst on maternity leave? (essentially, go on mat leave and not go back to work)...

3. When do I need to notify my employer that I am pregnant and would like to apply for maternity leave?

Thanks if you can help!

lesliefu is offline Registered User

i'm not sure what you mean by "maternity leave pay" - when I took maternity leave the only pay I got was my regular pay...i.e. I didn't get my salary deducted for taking maternity but I didn't get anything extra on top of my regular pay...perhaps that is something they at your school? (I'm also a teacher)

depending on what it stipulates in your contract, it could be possible to hand in your resignation during your maternity leave.

you need to give your school sufficient time to find a sub for you really - having said that "sufficient" is not very specific...i let the school know when I was 4mths pregnant and things were stable...i don't think there really is a fix time...

solidstars is offline Registered User

see a doctor, get him to give you a note stating you're pregnant and so and so along, and then hand it into your employer.

as for pay, i got the legal amount of four fifths my usual monthly salary.

yes you can hand in your resignation during the leave, but this depends on your contract (how much 'forenotice') etc.

Labour Department - Frequently Asked Questions

prone_to_wander is offline Registered User