Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Moving to Hong Kong in August with 2 year old and 2 month old. Need Advice.

fraxbo is offline Registered User

Moving to Hong Kong in August with 2 year old and 2 month old. Need Advice.

Hey all, new to the forum. My wife and I are moving to Hong Kong in August with our two young children, a toddler and a newborn. We will be living in a company apartment in Tsim Sha Tsui for the first two months but will need to find a place after that. The school where I will teach is in ShaTin/Tai Wai, and my wife will attend language courses at Chinese University HK after she finishes her maternity leave. For this reason we are thinking about a place in ShaTin or Tai Wai, or alternatively anywhere else along the blue MTR line. I am not sure what our housing allowance will be, but since I am a lowly assistant professor I don't expect it will be much more than 20-25k/month. I imagine we will need 3 bedrooms and somewhere in the neighborhood of 800+ square feet. We would prefer to be in an estate with amenities, but realize that, given our limited budget, that might not be an option. Does anybody have any suggestions for places we might look? We are really open to anything. We will eventually get a Filipina, once my wife goes off maternity leave, and don't really want to commute more than 30 mins each way. I hope this is enough info to get some feedback from the wise crowd here. Thanks.

yonge is offline Registered User

I have a friend living at Sceneway Gardens in Lam Tin over the MTR and loves it. Sounds like it would meet your requirements and budget. Good luck!

babydoll is offline Registered User

I think there will be a few places in Shatin/Tai Wai, but best to get in touch with a property agent when you're here and visit them yourself. Be careful about the property agents though - they may try to get you to rent at a higher price if you're new to HK. Try to go with a local if you can.