Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

moving to Hong Kong

mmbunla Guest

Talking moving to Hong Kong

Hi everyone!

This is my first time writing on this post. I discovered this site last night while trying to get some article on Family moving overseas. Anyhow, My family will be moving from DC to HK this August. I have many questions and I hope some of you can help. I have a 16 months old daughter. I am worried about her adjusting to a new place. What sort of advise or suggestion do you have when moving overseas? What sort of things do I need to bring to get things start for her in HK? Our apartment is located on the mid-level region at the Dynasty Court. Anyone from that area? If so, I would love to meet you and introduce our babies. We have never been to Hong Kong and I have no idea what to expect except from reading. Please feel free to give me as much information as you can about family with young kids living in HK. Thank you all! Mai

rani is offline Administrator

Welcome to HK!

HK is a great place with kids. Have a read through some previous threads on moving to HK.

http://www.geobaby.com/forum/showthread.php?t=116941

Dynasty Court is a fairly family building so I'm sure you'll meet lots of moms/kids in the playroom and by the pool. You're 5 mins from central, and there are lots of classes for baby and you to take. Lots going on at the YWCA too!

Rani

Founded GeoBaby in 2002

carang is offline Registered User

a child that age should not have any problems adjusting to life in a new place. it's usually the parents that have a harder time....

good luck!

HKfornow is offline Registered User

Mai, Carang is right most kids have no problems adjusting, however, since you seem to still be in the packing stage, if you can fit in your suitcase as much of your child's favorite toys, books then ship the rest, that will make the immediate adjustment easier.