Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Midwives in Hong Kong

surfdoula is offline Registered User

Midwives in Hong Kong

Hi,

I'm an apprentice midwife studying in the United States and would like to practice in Hong Kong after I finish my studies here. Both of my parents are originally from Hong Kong and travel there quite often. Although they spend a signifcant portion of the year in HK, they are unable to accurate tell me what the birth culture is like and even less, what the demands for midwife assisted births are. I would most be interested in homebirth or birth center work. Your website has been very helpful, but the last post I saw in regards to homebirth was posted in 2004. I also search the Annerly midwives webpage but it looks as though they work in the role of a doula during births. I am somewhat fluent in Cantonese so language would not restrict me from working with midwives who do not speak English.

Surfdoula

jools is offline Registered User
    It's great to hear of midwives who are into home births and birthing centres, however I'm sorry to say you will find neither of these things here in Hong Kong.