Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Like Tree1Likes

When to have the 1st check up?

claresaunders is offline Registered User

When to have the 1st check up?

Hi Ladies, i am wondering when is the best time to have the 1st check up with doctor? I've heard 6-8 weeks not too early...
    What to expect in the first check up?
    I have never done pap smear test before and is the check up going to go inside you and will it hurt the baby?

charade is offline Registered User
    Quote Originally Posted by claresaunders View Post
    Hi Ladies, i am wondering when is the best time to have the 1st check up with doctor? I've heard 6-8 weeks not too early...
    What to expect in the first check up?
    I have never done pap smear test before and is the check up going to go inside you and will it hurt the baby?
    I went at 6 weeks or earlier for my first (I was very excited) and seven for my second. For the first, I had to have a vaginal ultrasound where a probe is inserted since a pelvic ultrasound wouldn't pick it up. Think I had a pelvic for my second. There is no danger to the baby with the vaginal ultrasound, just some discomfort for you when its inserted. The baby just looks like a blotch but they can confirm a heartbeat and you can listen to it which is pretty sweet.

You can discuss any health concerns you have with your doc and also the all-important-in-HK where to deliver. The main reason people go earlier for this check in HK is so the doc can put their name down for a hospital if they want to deliver at the in-demand ones.

I found registering for updates from babycenter.com to get a sense of what to expect at each stage useful.

Thanks a lot Charade. I am quite excited too but i was told not to go too early as there might be a chance they will hurt the baby. But i am 8 weeks now and my first one is due next week so i can't wait.