Forums  •  Classifieds  •  Events  •  Directory

Feedback on giving birth at Princess Margaret Hospital

Rituparna is offline Registered User

Feedback on giving birth at Princess Margaret Hospital

Hi all the lovely Mums,
    I am due in Aug 2018. I live in Tung Chung. Looking for some feedback on giving birth at PMH. I am new in HK and my first child was born in India in a private hospital. My husband and I are a little skeptical about delivering in a public hospital (primarily bcz we are unaware of the entire experience out there). We do have insurance coverage upto $50,000.

Is there anyone out there who can give me a feedback on delivering at PMH. Overall experience, neonatal care, doctors etc....

Thanks in advance.

NateM is offline Registered User

My wife gave birth to our son 5 years ago at Princess Margaret, and then just had our 2nd child here at a private hospital in the US last month, so we have experience in both worlds. In general, I'd say we had a very good experience at Princess Margaret. Though you don't get quite as much individualized attention as in the US, there was never any hint that staff were unprofessional or not making sure you were taken care of. That said, there aren't going to be as many creature comforts (think private room/dining options), as you would get at a private hospital. Also, make sure you request the epidural with plenty of time in advance! But overall both my wife and I were quite pleased with it, and in many ways prefer it to the US. If we were planning on having another child, we would gladly return.

Things to note:
    You will not have your own room. Pre-delivery you are in a room with about a dozen other women in various stages of labor. Once you are close, you are taken to a delivery room.
    Staff is generally curteous and professional, if a bit impersonal due to the number of patients they look after
    Husband/family only allowed in the visiting area a few hours per day to avoid crowding the mothers/newborns.